​​​​​​​Standing Committee on Finance and Administration (SCOFA)


Welcome to the website of the AASHTO Standing Committee on Finance and Administration, or SCOFA. We address a wide range of issues and interests including general administrative practices, civil rights, financial management, transporta​tion finance policy, uniform accounting procedures, human resource management, information systems, legal affairs, public affairs, and internal/external audit. Given the current economic and political climate, there is no shortage of challenges ahead of us in the area of transportation finance and administration. I hope that you will find this website to be a useful resource in addressing such challenges.

John Schroer
Tennessee Department of Transportation

Latest News from the
AASHTO Journal

Senate EPW Rolls Out Updated WRDA

The Senate Environment and Public Works Committee this week voted 19-1 to approve S. 2848, the Water Resources Development Act of 2016. The more than $9 billion WRDA legislation authorizes 25 US Army Corps of Engineers projects in 17 states designed to improve ocean and river ports, barge traffic and flood control. It also includes funding for drinking water and waste water infrastructure. The bill also specifically targets support for the Flint, Mic., water system by providing emergency assistance to Flint and other similar communities across the country facing drinking water contamination.Senate EPW Chairman Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.) said that Congress must continue its support for the national economy by reguarly re-authorizing WRDA. "This year, our bill prioritizes projects that will deepen ports to increase our global competitive advantage, will provide protection from disastrous flood waters, and will help to restore our nation's critical ecosystems...By building upon the robust reforms in WRRDA 2014, our bipartisan legislation provides needed investments in America's infrastructure to support our communities and expand our economy," Inhofe said. View the full story in the April 29 AASHTO Journal

AASHTO, AMPO Seek Additional Time for Proposed System Performance Rule Including GHG Measure
The organizations representing state departments of transportation and metropolitan planning organizations sent a joint letter to Federal Highway Administrator Gregory Nadeau asking for more time to prepare comments on a new proposed rule that is part of the 2012 surface transportation law known as MAP-21. On April 22, the Federal Highway Administration released a proposed regulation that would set new performance measures for state departments of transportation and metropolitan planning organizations to assess travel reliability, congestion and emissions in the highway movement of people and goods. The proposed new rule - "National Performance Management Measures: Assessing Performance of the National Highway System, Freight Movement on the Interstate System, and Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality Improvement Program" - said that in addition to MAP-21 performance measures, FHWA was seeking comment on "whether and how to" establish a greenhouse gas emissions measure which was not specified in MAP-21. View the full story in the April 29 AASHTO Journal​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​


This regularly updated document tracks recent burst of state-level initiatives around the country aimed at raising revenues for transportation investment​


​View a comprehensive array of illustrative revenue options to address surface transportation funding gaps



  • ​24-26 May 2016: SCOFA Meeting, AASHTO Spring Meeting, Des Moines, IA​​​

For a complete list, please refer to AASHTO's Meetings webpage


All 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico have the opportunity to designate one official member on the Committee. For questions about Committee business and membership appointments, please contact Joung Lee or Bud McDonald.​